Facebook messenger is one of the most used applications by people all over the world. Even though its popularity had reduced after the rise of Instagram, it is still used by many people in various countries. There are many features in this application like video calling with different types of face filters. People will chat with each other using this application. In messenger there is an option to block or restrict someone and if you are not aware of How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Messenger? Then this article will help you with that.
We will explain you clearly on How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Messenger and the difference between the blocking and restricting you in messenger.
Table of Contents
What Is Facebook Messenger?
Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms with millions of users. In the past we used to chat with each other in Facebook with an extra chat option provided in the Facebook application but after that we had a separate app called messenger in which we can chat with our Facebook friends and also we can make audio and video calls.
In messenger there is an option to block or restrict someone. Some people will block or restrict their friends due to various reasons. If they do this then the opposite person cannot communicate. Their messages and calls will not be received. This may be fun for some people but it hurts others feelings. So if you do not know How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Messenger then with this blog you can find out the people who blocked and restricted you on Facebook messenger.
How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Messenger?
You Are Not Able To See Their Activity Status.
If Someone Restricted You On Messenger then you will not be able to see their activity status whether they are offline or online. Others may see but you cannot see because you are blocked or restricted by them.
The Read Receipt Will Not Be Seen.
If you cannot see the receipt then you can assume that the person blocked or restricted you on Facebook messenger. Normally if you send a message you will get a read receipt once they see your messages. If you do not get that then you can assume that you are restricted.
If They Do Not Respond To Your Messages or Call
On messenger if someone restricted you then they will not be notified if you make a call. Similar to messages they do not know that you are calling them until they unblock you. So if someone is not answering your calls for many days then you can assume that you are blocked or restricted on Facebook messenger.
What Happens If Someone Restricts You On Messenger
If you are blocked or restricted by anyone then you can notice these things in your messenger
- You cannot chat with them
- They cannot chat with you.
- You cannot call them on messenger
- You can send messages but you cannot know whether they are seeing your messages or not
- Read recipient option will be disabled.
- Their activity status will disappear.
- They will not see you in their chat list.
Difference Between Restriction and Block on Facebook Messenger
Even though both outcomes are the same, restrict and block are different. If someone restricts you then you cannot chat or call them on messenger. Blocking is the next level thing. If a person blocked you then you will not see their profile, posts and stories on their Facebook account. Normally if two people don’t want to talk to each other or they do not want to maintain a relationship with each other they will use the block option on messenger.
From the above article now you will get to a conclusion on the difference between the restricted and blocking on Facebook messenger and also How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Messenger. It is very easy to restrict someone on a messenger app. Open the app and long press on the name of the person. Now you can see a pop up in which there is an option called restrict. Confirm restrictions. That’s it now the person will be restricted. Blocking or restriction is nowadays a common thing on social media. If a person hurts or does not want to talk to someone then he will block him on all social media platforms.